Australia Defeat South Korea’s So Asian Champions

Australia Defeat South Korea’s So Asian Champions

Australia Defeat South Korea's So Asian Champions

Sydney – In his own country, Australia managed to win the 2015 Asian Cup thanks to a 2-1 victory over South Korea in the final. It became the first Asian Cup title for the Socceroos.

In the match at Stadium Australia, Sydney, Saturday (31/01/2015), Australia took the lead in the final minutes of the first half through goals from Massimo Luongo. South Korea equalized in the final minutes of the second half through the Son Heung-Min.

James Troisi later became the winner of Australia through goals that he created in the 105th minute of extra time. Australia finished the 2015 Asian Cup champions.

It became the first Asian Cup title for Australia since joining the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) in 2006. While South Korea, in 1956 and 1960 champion, returns must be willing to be the runner-up for the time the fourth time (1972, 1980, 1988, 2015)

The game

Both teams were both immediately appear aggressive and make the game run faster. One of the opportunities in the early minutes made Australia a free kick Mile Jedinak still end up on the South goal nets.

From a free kick in the 23rd minute, Kwak Tae-hwi who was in front of the wicket of Australia managed to meet the ball and continue with a header. However, the ball has not led to the target header.

After that Australia directly to counterattack. Penetration of Tim Cahill still be denied by goalkeeper Kim Jin-Hyeon in order to produce a corner alone, which then did not produce anything.

Eight minutes before the break Kim Jin-Su floated the ball into the penalty box Australia, with Son Heung-min welcomed walaupu ball again not find the target field.

Precisely Australia which then break kenbuntuan. Receiving the pass Trent Sainsbury outside the penalty box, Massimo Luongo had the ball while avoiding the opposing player and then release the right target. Australia 1-0 in the 45th minute.

In the second half, Park Joo-Ho to cross into a dangerous area in the 55th minute despite the potential threat sniff well by Sainsbury’s who had the ball to move away from the area.

Four minutes later the Australian press again through kick Mathew Leckie. Goalkeeper Kim Jin-Hyeon block the ball for a corner kick. Sainsbury’s header following a corner kick it and do not lead to the target.

Having never no other goal, in the final minutes of the match South Korea even stomping. When the Australian victory is in sight, pass Kook-Young Han continued Son Heung-min on the right side of the wicket can be driven without anyone. The score was 1-1.

In the extra period, the South Korean goalkeeper minute burst at 105. Starting from the persistence Tomislav Juric to fall up to defend the ball on the hitch Kim Jin-Su, the Australian players were finally able to get away and let the bait to the front of the goal. Goalkeeper Kim Jin-Hyeon then able to block the round leather, but the ball gag immediately struck by James Troisi.


South Korea: Kim Jin-Hyeon; Kim Jin-Su, Kwak Tae-hwi, Kim Young-Gwon, Jang Hyun-Soo, Cha Du-Ri, Park Joo-ho (Han Kook-Young 71 ‘), Son Heung-Min, Nam Tae-Hee (Lee Keun -Ho 63 ‘), Ki Sung-Yeung, Lee Jung-Hyub (Ju-Young Kim 88’)

Australia: Maty Ryan; Jason Davidson, Matthew Spiranovic, Trent Sainsbury, Ivan Franjic (Matt McKay 75 ‘), Tim Cahill (Tomislav Juric 63’), Mark Milligan, Mile Jedinak, Massimo Luongo, Mathew Leckie, Robbie Kruse (James Troisi 71 ‘)